hatchdad

Evolution of a Man

Running Wounded

Leave a comment


“Relish the bad training runs. Without them it’s difficult to recognize, much less appreciate, the good ones.” 
-Pat Teske

The run of the 1st of December was my 34st training run, the last run of the 11th week!  (Week 11: Dec. 2nd-Dec. 8th)

36 runs in, 11 weeks down, 14 weeks to go and I’ll be running the Saturday Rock N’ Roll Marathon in Washington, DC.

Week 11 Statistics!

Average Run

  • 41:13 minutes

Average Pace

  • 9:13 /mile

Average Distance

  • 4.52 miles

Notable week 11 information:

  • Injury.  After my five mile run on week 10’s saturday, I had some pain in my hip.  It got pretty bad on Saturday night, but was gone Sunday.  Before my Monday morning run though, during my sleep, my leg hurt and throbbed all night, keeping me up.  I had done stretches and such, but it didn’t really help.  The pain was still there on Tuesday and on Wednesday (leading me to decide not to run on Wednesday, although I had planned to earlier).  I decided to go to see my chiropractor.  Dr. Joe did an excellent job.  He massaged the muscle, put on some penetrating gel (and provided me some for home), and used a cold laser on the area, as well as the typical adjustment.  My leg felt great, the pain was gone, and I ran with no problems on Thursday morning.
  • I ran 6 miles on Saturday!  From my house to Potomac View High School’s stone entrance and back.  It seems like a long distance to run just thinking about it!  It felt really good though, and the weather was perfect for a run.  My leg started getting a little sore at around the 3/4 complete mark, but I took an easier pace the whole way (8:53), and seemed to have saved my leg from severe pain.  I stretched it out extra when I got home, put on the gel Dr. Joe had given me, and my pain slowly faded away.

“Run when you can, walk when you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up.” 
-Dean Karnazes 

 

Leave a Reply

