hatchdad

Evolution of a Man

1st Marathon Training Run

1 Comment


1st Training Run in the books.

My schedule called for a 20 minute run (which is well beneath my ability, but I want to hold to the schedule, to have an honest feel for how it prepared me for the marathon).

I ran two ten minute runs, one OUT somewhere, and one BACK, so that next time I could set my Nike running app to 20 minutes, and know where my turn around point was at.  These links show the route, and the elevations for the run (and there is a ton of elevation on this route, which I like).

Run OUT

Run BACK

My first run with the Saucony Race 5’s and the vibe Swiftwick socks was great.  I’m so glad I went to Potomac River Running store, it really made a difference on my feet.  I felt the weight of the shoe was better, and the way the sock held my feet in the shoe was really great too.

It was chilly on my hands and legs this morning, but not unbearable in the least.  By the time I came back, I was too hot with the sweatshirt and hat (but I needed them in the beginning).  It was a nice morning for a run.

Many more training runs to come.

 

One thought on “1st Marathon Training Run

  1. FYI my friend… you are a beast 🙂

Leave a Reply

