hatchdad

Evolution of a Man

Gearing up for the training

Leave a comment


much to consider…

Testing my Stride

Today I went down to Potomac River Running, to learn more about the training process, and to analyze my gait when I run.  This was accomplished by walking and then running on a treadmill while they observed the motion of my stride, and the strike points where my feet hit the ground.  They were able to determine that I have a normal gait.  This means that I can use a neutral shoe (not adjusted for side to side movement when running).

Dress for success

Shoes

The size shoe I was given for running was a 9, which is a 1/2 to a full size more than I normally wear for shoes.  The reason for this is that your feet swell when running extra long distances, and you want the room to expand into.  Without this extra room, many marathon runners get blackened, and lose their toenails afterwards.

After trying three pairs on, I went with a pair of Saucony’s; the Saucony Mens Ride 5’s.  This pair has an 8mm heel/toe offset (think high heels vs. flats).  The typical shoe has a 12mm offset.  Many runners are now going ‘natural’ fit, as our feet are designed to work without shoes.  It’s a big jump to go from your standard shoe to a 0 mm offset however, so I’m going to ramp down slowly.

Socks

Something else to consider when thinking of running a marathon is your sock choice.  Socks are a critical part of the process if you think about it.  A sock should be dri-fit or moisture-wicking, to keep moisture off of your feet.  It is moisture on the feet that primarily causes blistering.

Choosing a sock is crazy, there are so many different kinds, but the three main points that I came across to consider were material, cushion, and compression.  There are many kinds of moisture-wick materials, so I was going on recommendation and feel.  Similarly, the cushion level of the sock is a preference.  I prefer a cushioned heel to a non-cushioned heel.  Lastly, compression.  Compression is a factor where it compresses the skin (and veins/arteries), and keeps everything under a better pressure.  It can promote circulation, which is important when you’re looking to run 26.2 miles.

I chose the Vibe Swiftwick, and once used, I’ll review them.

Running in the cold

I am starting this journey near the first day of fall.  As such, I’ll be training outside when it’s cold.  That started me thinking about my comfort level while gearing up for training, and how warm/cold I’d like to be vs. what my current equipement was set up to provide for.  I bought a moisture-wicking stocking hat, figuring that would likely last me through the winter.  My next thought was to my legs..

I am looking at various compression tights for running, but haven’t yet purchased them (it’s still warm enough), and wanted to do some more research on the brands/types – because they’re not cheap.

More to come as I learn more and get into training.  My first training run is tomorrow morning at 6am with Chris Watanabe, my neighbor (who is as anxious as I am to get this going I think).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

